Huxley Medal 2020: Stephen Levinson

Trained as a social anthropologist, Professor Levinson has become a world leader working on the border of social anthropology and linguistics, crossing pragmatics, language history, universality of language, and the integration with neurobiology. He has recently retired from the Directorship of the Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics.

Rivers Medal 2019: Maria Martinon-Torres

Maria Martinon-Torres is Director of CENIEH, the paleoanthropological institute in Burgos. She is prolific, working on fossil hominin dentition, and has been pivotal in bringing together new data and analyses from China that are having major impact in the field.

Henry Myers Lecture 2020: David Gellner

David Gellner holds the Chair of Social Anthropology at All Souls College, Oxford. A specialist in Buhddism, he is well known for his studies of religion in society. He is ideally placed to provide the RAI with a public lecture in accordance with the terms of this lectureship, which is on religion or spirituality.

Lucy Mair Medal & Marsh Prize for Applied Anthropology 2019: Melissa Leach

Melissa Leach is the Director of the Institute of Development Studies at the University of Sussex, and has developed a number of important and original initiatives, including working with foresters, agricultural and medical scientists alongside large, interdisciplinary research programmes involving multi-country teams.

Marsh Award for Anthropology in the World 2019: Johnny Clegg OBE

Johnny Clegg is a South African anthropologist turned musician, who has done a great deal for cross-cultural understanding in that divided country, and runs a recording studio for young musicians. A well-known figure, he has been active as a cultural ambassador for South Africa.

RAI President's Lifetime Achievement Award 2019: Karin Barber CBE

Karin Barber is Emeritus Professor at the University of Birmingham in African Studies and a Centennial Professor in the Anthropology Department at the LSE, and is known for her long-term work amongst the Yoruba, especially in their theatre and language. Her works have won numerous prizes, as has her doctoral supervision, and she has performed various voluntary roles with conspicuous success, including being a Vice-President of the British Academy, President of the African Studies Association, and has been given additionally a Yoruba chieftaincy title.